ACCESSOIRE

a blog about artisans and the handmade life!

My Favorite Color — Turquoise!

Leave a comment

This is the definition according to Wikipedia…

Turquoise is the name of a bluish-green color, based on the gem of the same name. The word turquoise comes from the French for Turkish, as the gem was originally imported from Turkey.  The first recorded use of turquoise as a color name was in English in 1573.

Now with the history lesson behind us, my love of this color lead to me collecting turquoise jewelry in the Southwest style at early age.  I love the pairing of sterling silver and turquoise.  My choice is the more bluish turquoise as opposed to the green colored.

wow...  love love love
Via: thatbohemiangirl.tumblr.com

When I make jewelry I find that I tend to use turquoise and blue/green colors in many of my designs.  Although, I like other colors and try to add various color combinations to my designs I seem to always come back to the blues.  

turquoise palette

Turquoise

Accessoire on ArtFire

Accessoire on ArtFire

Here is one of my recent bracelet/earrings sets where I used magnesite stone beads in turquoise blue and accented them with silver twisted rings and Czech fire polish rondelle beads that have a touch of red .  The question could be asked “why use magnesite instead of real turquoise?”  Cost is one reason especially if you are just getting started in the jewelry making business.  Or in my case, getting back into the business and replenishing my lost bead/gemstone stock.  Of course, in the future I will be buying some turquoise and creating some pieces with it.  Using more expensive items such as sterling silver vs. silver plate and turquoise vs. magnesite will affect prices and the audience I am hoping to reach.  

My next learning experience in my jewelry making career is to start taking classes in silversmithing.  I want to create my own pieces from the “ground up” and watch as they bloom in my hands into the designs I have envisioned in my head.  I love rings and hope to be able to make some beautiful rings for customers.

silver bohemian cuff bracelets with turquoise gemstones

Finally, I simply thought I would write a  post with a lot of pretty photos for your viewing pleasure about the color that inspires me!  

Have fun creating and explore the world around you!

Cherie 

Author: Cherie Klinger @ Accessoire Jewelry

Lover of the Arts * Supporter of handmade artisans *

I would love to hear from you. Comments are welcome!

