ACCESSOIRE

a blog about artisans and the handmade life!

Back to Basics

Leave a comment

backtobasics post

When I started out making jewelry it was quite interesting.  One day I got in my car and went to the local craft store and bought all the wrong things! I came home and looked at the stuff I had bought and was confused! I wanted to cry because I didn’t know what do with any of it. The beads I bought were rolling off my kitchen table and just a piece of advice, never try to bend a ear wire with a scissors.

It was then that I turned to my trusty computer and the internet and began my research on what I needed to begin to make jewelry. ᕙ(`▽´)ᕗ  I began to understand that I needed a specific tool to open and close the loop holes on the ear wires and a specific tool would help me to bend the wire, it would actually help if I became acquainted with the industry terms used in jewelry making. 

Next, I detoured to my husband’s tool box, bad idea number one! They did not work out too well and my first pieces of jewelry were interesting to say the least!  I can honestly say that I was thrilled the first time that I made a pair of earrings!  And it was love at first sight!

A few sore fingers, lost beads, and bruised feelings later… I finally did the right thing and bought books, took online tutorials and picked the brains of people I met along the way. (✿◠‿◠) Very sweet and patient people.  I slowly began to practice my craft, and made many mistakes.  I can’t tell you how many spools of practice wire I have gone through to learn wire wrapping.  

I am sure as I learn metalsmith skills and lampworking, I will have even more mishaps, wrong turns, and funny stories to park in the back of my mind.  But they all will lead me to my goal of producing something I love!

Anyway,for those of you interested in this mysterious and ancient (just joking) art of jewelry making, I thought perhaps I would highlight some of the tools needed to begin on your journey.  Of course, it would be a good idea to do your research first and not to raid your husband’s tool box!

Oh yeah, stay away from the scissors too, your hands and fingers will thank me!

Here  basic tools, jump ring sizes  and wire gauge sizes.

tools for jewelrymaking

If I could offer one piece of advice… buy quality tools! They make a difference!

jump ring size maker

Jump ring size and the gauge of wire you need to make the rings. Making your own rings is economical.

Jewelry Wire Gauge Chart

The gauge of wire and then there is also hardness to consider and what you are using the wire for.

 

Here is a great blog post from Dishfunctional Designs Blogspot on beginner jewelry making:

http://dishfunctionaldesigns.blogspot.com/2013/10/essential-jewelry-making-tools-for.html

***

Here are some of my own recommendations for beginning:

1.  Have an excellent light with magnifier. Like this:

2.  Make sure to have a large piece of felt padding to put your beads on, then they won’t spill all over the floor like mine did!  Do not put them on a hard surface where they can and will roll off the table.

Felt Beading Pad

3.  Work in a well ventilated and comfortable area.  This is especially important if you are going to be working with certain glues and other jewelry making products.  Especially if you are going use heavy glues, solder, and a pickle pot.

4.  Finally, play some good music!  Whatever gets your mind into that creative place!

Finally, have fun in whatever you do and I hope that if you are thinking about trying to make jewelry, that you don’t let that nag called, “doubt” stop you.  Do it for yourself!

Sometimes the most beautiful things come out of the messiest beginnings!

Have a great week creating something beautiful!

Ⓒⓗⓔⓡⓘⓔ 

Author: Cherie Klinger @ Accessoire Jewelry

Lover of the Arts * Supporter of handmade artisans *

I would love to hear from you. Comments are welcome!

