ACCESSOIRE

a blog about artisans and the handmade life!

Changing Designs, Finding Inspiration, Staying True!

Leave a comment

My own design aesthetic feels like it is evolving, I have always loved leather and can remember when I was a teen buying hand tooled leather bracelets. I am always intrigued with new ways to design jewelry and the interesting materials used in design.

I am the type of person that thrives on redecorating, rearranging furniture, clothes, the color of my hair, nails, etc. (although I have slowed down on the hair color)… and my family can tell you about my obsession with lamps.  I know that just changing out the lamps in a room can make me feel that the room has a fresh feel.  I guess I get bored easily and need the change and that can show through in my designs.  I am never quite happy making the same thing over and over again, it feels too much like a production line.

One design that I do tend to make over and over is my Gingko Leaf earrings, although right now I do not have any in my Etsy store.  I have to get going on making some more.  They have always been a very popular design of mine.

Accessoire on Etsy (SOLD)

**Here is one of my Gingko Leaf designs.**

 

Recently, I began to reevaluate my designs and ask myself “what designs do I like, what jewelry do I want to wear right now, and would I wear my own designs?” and in response I began to change my designs to reflect the answers that I found to my questions.

Here are a few of my new designs:

TierraCast® Antiqued Copper-plated Focal Plate with Leather Cord, Embellished Leather and Copper Bracelet, Adjustable

TierraCast® antiqued copper-plated “pewter” focal piece laced with the light brown leather. I have affixed the wood beads to the leather to keep them in the position you see them here. and then placed copper coil end caps and a copper lobster clasp. I made the chain extender so that you can adjust the size of your bracelet.

I used this patina verdigris filigree piece and bent and lightly sanded the finish to attain a soft color with copper showing through the finish. I then accented with a beautiful brown leather cord and copper elements.

Modern Wood Circle Ring, Sterling Silver and Wood Ring,Wood Sterling Minimalist Ring

I love the color of this round wood bead, I then added the small upcycled silver oval and made the ring base with sterling silver German square wire.

Leather Cord Choker, Leather and Beaded Choker Necklace, Beaded Necklace, Silver Plate, Handcrafted Hook and Eye Closure

I love brown leather cord and added small wood, glass, and silver plate beads and tiny silver tubes with the silver plated long tube bead as the focal point with a small silver heart charm. I handcrafted the hook and eye clasp with sterling silver German square silver.

I am acting as my jewelry model!

I used this flat cable 16k gold necklace and added the adjustable chain that adjusts necklace from a 16 inch necklace to an 18 inch necklace. I then made the gold bar focal piece with gold metal cubes and black iridescent glass pieces.

My dainty flat sterling silver chain and handmade sterling silver circle and bronze wire pendant with metal heart charm.

I just keep moving forward with my designs, always amazed by the wonderful handmade artisans that I find and get to know.  I would love to hear how your designs have changed through the years and what new skills you may have added and used in your designs?

Much Peace and Creativity!

 

Author: Cherie Klinger @ Accessoire Jewelry

Lover of the Arts * Supporter of handmade artisans *

I would love to hear from you. Comments are welcome!

